Advanced Search

Learn About The Holocaust

Special Collections

My Saved Research




Skip to main content

Large land ownership map of the medieval town Brandys, Czech Republic

Object | Accession Number: 1989.2.142

Search this record's additional resources, such as finding aids, documents, or transcripts.

No results match this search term.
Check spelling and try again.

results are loading

0 results found for “keyward


    Brief Narrative
    Land ownership map of the towns of Brandy's nad Labem and Hradek,s, dus, irca 1620, possibly created at Theresienstadt (Terezin) ghetto-labor camp in German occupied Czechoslovakia. The camp opened in November 24, 1941 and was in operation about 3.5 years, until May 2, 1945. The German SS imprisoned certain categories of German, Austrian, and Czech Jews in the ghetto, including many prominent intellectual or cultural figures. There was a large Technical Department where many artists were assigned to work, creating technical drawings, maps, etc. for the camp administration. Many of them secretly created works documenting the actual overcrowded, disease ridden conditions of the camp. The works were buried or hidden behind walls and recovered postwar. Roughly 140,000 Jews were sent to Theresienstadt; nearly 90,000 were sent to camps in the east where most died, and about 33,000 perished in Theresienstadt.
    depiction: Brandys nad Labem (Czech Republic)
    Credit Line
    United States Holocaust Memorial Museum Collection, Gift of Mark Talisman
    front, bottom right, black ink : Brandýs n.L. a Hrádek podel Brandejsa / do r. 1620 [Brandy's nad Labem and Hradek, 2 towns in the former Czechoslovakia, also known as Brandeis, the German name,...1620]

    Physical Details

    Information Forms
    Object Type
    Maps (lcsh)
    Physical Description
    Large, detailed, plat map in black ink on light brown paper of Brandys nad Labem and Hradek, 2 towns in the former Czechoslovakia, with Czech text and graphics. Each plot is numbered and labelled with town, street, and neighborhoods names. A river, Labe [Elbe]outlined in blue ink, is in the bottom left corner; a small tributary goes through the towns. Red inked text identifies a former street.
    overall: Height: 13.125 inches (33.338 cm) | Width: 16.500 inches (41.91 cm)
    overall : paper, ink

    Rights & Restrictions

    Conditions on Access
    No restrictions on access
    Conditions on Use
    No restrictions on use

    Keywords & Subjects

    Administrative Notes

    The map was donated to the United States Holocaust Memorial Museum in 1989 by Mark Talisman.
    Funding Note
    The cataloging of this artifact has been supported by a grant from the Conference on Jewish Material Claims Against Germany.
    Record last modified:
    2023-05-03 14:16:12
    This page:

    Download & Licensing

    In-Person Research

    Contact Us