Advanced Search

Learn About The Holocaust

Special Collections

My Saved Research




Skip to main content

March / written by John Lewis and Andrew Aydin ; art by Nate Powell

Publication | Library Call Number: E840.8.L43 A3 2013
Book cover

This graphic novel trilogy is a first-hand account of Congressman John Lewis' lifelong struggle for civil and human rights, meditating in the modern age on the distance traveled since the days of Jim Crow and segregation. Rooted in Lewis' personal story, it also reflects on the highs and lows of the broader civil rights movement. Book one spans Lewis' youth in rural Alabama, his life-changing meeting with Martin Luther King, Jr., the birth of the Nashville Student Movement, and their battle to tear down segregation through nonviolent lunch counter sit-ins, building to a stunning climax on the steps of City Hall. Book two takes place after the Nashville sit-in campaign. His commitment to justice and nonviolence has taken him from an Alabama sharecropper's farm to the halls of Congress, from a segregated schoolroom to the 1963 March on Washington D.C., and from receiving beatings from state troopers, to receiving the Medal of Freedom awarded to him by Barack Obama, the first African-American president.

Lewis, John, 1940 February 21- author.
Marietta, GA : Top Shelf Productions, [2013]-[2016]
Expand all
Record last modified: 2017-02-13 11:50:00
This page: