Advanced Search

Learn About The Holocaust

Special Collections

My Saved Research




Skip to main content

Casting of the helm from the Haganah ship "Medinat Ha’Yehudim"


Search this record's additional resources, such as finding aids, documents, or transcripts.

No results match this search term.
Check spelling and try again.

results are loading

0 results found for “keyward


    Brief Narrative
    Painted, epoxy resin casting of the wheel from the Aliyah Bet (clandestine immigration) ship "Medinat Ha’Yehudim" (“The Jewish State”), commissioned by the United States Holocaust Memorial Museum for installation in the museum’s permanent exhibition. The ship was commissioned by the United States Coast Guard in 1927, as the ice cutter “USCGC Northland (WPG-49)”. Following the outbreak of World War II in September 1939, the Northland was refitted for patrol along the coast of Greenland. In September 1941, the Northland achieved the first American naval capture of the war by seizing the German-controlled ship Busko. The Northland was decommissioned in1946, and purchased for $50,000 by the Weston Trading Company (a front for the Haganah, the para-military organization of the Jewish community in Palestine) in 1947. Britain had been given control of Palestine following World War I, and severely restricted the immigration of Jewish refugees, who wanted to establish a new Jewish State. This led many refugees to enter the country via “illegal” or “clandestine” immigration on ships. Under a crew of American volunteers, the Northland sailed to Bayonne, France, for refitting, alongside another former American ship, the Paducah. On August 28, 1947, the Northland followed the Paducah for Burgas, Bulgaria. Overcrowded with 2,664 passengers from Romania, the ship set sail for Palestine on September 26, 1947. As they entered the Mediterranean, the Northland and the Paducah were renamed “Medinat Ha’Yehudim” (“The Jewish State”) and “Geula” (“Redemption”). The Medinat Ha’Yehudim headed for Tel Aviv, but was approached by the British 90 miles from shore. After unsuccessful attempts at evasion, the Medinat Ha’Yehudim collided with one of the British destroyers, which had shadowed both ships during the earlier stages of the voyage, and was boarded by commandos. The British disabled the ship and towed it to Haifa. The passengers were sent to an internment camp on Cyprus. After the state of Israel was founded in 1948, the Medinat Ha’Yehudim was renamed Eilat A16, and served as the flagship of the new Israeli Navy. In 1955, the ship was renamed Matzpen, and functioned as a barracks or depot hulk until May 1962, when it was sold for scrap. The helm was removed and given to the Israeli Ministry of Defense’s "Clandestine Immigration and Naval Museum” in Haifa when it opened on September 7, 1969.
    manufacture:  after 1991 August 12-before 1991 April 17
    manufacture: Jerusalem
    Credit Line
    United States Holocaust Memorial Museum Collection
    Manufacturer: The Israel Museum, Jerusalem

    Physical Details

    Tools and Equipment
    Object Type
    Helms (tgm)
    Physical Description
    Painted, epoxy resin casting of a wood and brass ship’s helm. Both the front and back of the casting are finished, and the wheel is attached to an exhibition mount that positions it away from the wall. Projecting from the gray-colored, circular hub in the center are eight spokes of equal length, resembling turned wood with flat, squared-off ends where it meets the large ring. The outer ends of the spokes attach to large ring that has a peaked outer edge. On the front and back faces, layered over the wheel and spindles, are flat rings resembling wood and brass with brass nail heads. The rings would have secured and strengthened the wheel and spokes. Attached to the ends of the spokes, projecting beyond the wheel, are long, near-cylindrical handles, resembling turned wood. On the face of a spoke, near where it attaches to the handle, is the impression of a carved, six-pointed Star of David.
    overall: | Depth: 2.375 inches (6.033 cm) | Diameter: 37.625 inches (95.568 cm)
    overall : epoxy resin, paint
    front face, spindle, near handle, carved: [six-pointed star]

    Rights & Restrictions

    Conditions on Access
    No restrictions on access
    Conditions on Use
    No restrictions on use

    Keywords & Subjects

    Personal Name
    Blum, Léon, 1872-1950.

    Administrative Notes

    The helm casting was acquired by the United States Holocaust Memorial Museum in 1991.
    Primary Number
    Record last modified:
    2023-08-28 10:53:02
    This page:

    Download & Licensing

    In-Person Research

    Contact Us