Advanced Search

Learn About The Holocaust

Special Collections

My Saved Research




Skip to main content

Betty Drury collection regarding the Emergency Committee In Aid of Displaced Foreign Scholars

Document | Accession Number: 2002.293 | RG Number: RG-19.061

The records of the Emergency Committee include documentation on the individuals who successfully or unsuccessfully sought aid. In all, some 6,000 displaced scholars and professional persons from Europe appealed to the Committee. Of that number 335 were granted assistance through the Committee. Of particular importance is series 3 which contains biographical information concerning Emergency Committee grantees, and account ledgers detailing payments to the grantees' employers.

The Emergency Committee, located in New York City at 2 West 45th Street in the Institute of International Education, was organized in May 1933, to serve the needs of the university professors who had been dismissed from German universities because of political opinions or anti-Semitic legislation, and to preserve their attainments for the benefit of scholarship in the United States. With the outbreak of Nazi aggression the Committee necessarily revised its mission so as to include refugee professors from all countries in Western Europe overrun by the Nazi armies. Dr. Livingston Farrand became Chairman of the Committee; Dr. Stephen Duggan became its Secretary, and after the death of Farrand, its Chairman; and Fred M. Stein became its Treasurer. Edward R. Murrow served as Assistant Secretary until 1935, followed by Professor John H. Whyte (1935-1937), Betty Drury (1937-1944) and finally, by Dr. Francis Fenton Park (1945). Professor Nelson P. Meade and Professor L.C. Dunn were added to Messers. Farrand, Stein and Duggan to form an Executive Committee. The Committee was disbanded in June 1945.

inclusive:  1922-1967
bulk:  1944-1945
21 boxes
Record last modified: 2021-11-10 12:58:48
This page: