Advanced Search

Learn About The Holocaust

Special Collections

My Saved Research




Skip to main content

Oral history interview with Rita Rubinstein

Oral History | RG Number: RG-50.999.0630

Rita Rubinstein (née Frieda Rifka Lifschitz), born on December 12, 1936 in Văscăuti, Romania (now Vashkivtsi, Ukraine), discusses her parents Abraham and Tabel Lifschitz; the dry goods store and small factory her father and uncle operated; their home which was shared with other relatives; the Soviet occupation of Văscăuti in 1940; the drafting of young men, including her father, into the army; the German invasion of Soviet territories in June 1941; Romanian soldiers entering Văscăuti and ordering all Jews to prepare to leave; being detained with her family and other Jews in a large building before being taken by Romanian authorities to Mogilev-Podolsky in Transnistria and then to the Shargorot ghetto; living in the ghetto for three years; attending a small class in the ghetto; the hardships in the ghetto; the liberation of Shargorot in early 1944; returning to Văscăuti; attending a Ukrainian school in Văscăuti; finding out that her father had been killed fighting in the Soviet army; the fates of her maternal grandparents and her mother’s siblings; escaping Communist Romania after her mother and her aunt obtained false papers stating that they were born in Poland; traveling from Romania to the displaced persons camp in Feldafing; contracting tuberculosis and being sent to a sanitarium for nine months; her mother remarrying; and immigrating with her mother and stepfather in 1949 to the United States. [Note: this summary may not reflect the entirety of the interview; it may also contain additional biographical information that is not discussed in the interview.]

Some video files begin with 10-60 seconds of color bars.
Ms. Rita Rubinstein
interview:  2017 August 10
creation: Washington (D.C.)
1 digital file : MP4.
Credit Line
United States Holocaust Memorial Museum Collection
Record last modified: 2023-11-16 09:44:26
This page: