Advanced Search

Learn About The Holocaust

Special Collections

My Saved Research

Login

Register

Help

Skip to main content

Oral history interview with Hans Herzberg

Oral History | Accession Number: 1989.346.29 | RG Number: RG-50.031.0029

Some video files begin with 10-60 seconds of color bars.

Hans Herzberg, born in 1919, describes growing up in Hannover, Germany; his father, who was a general physician; his younger brother; being the only Jew in the class throughout most of my school years; his non-Jewish friends, who began disassociating with his family after 1933; Jewish life in Hanover; having his bar mitzvah in the conservative synagogue in 1932; how life for Jews changed dramatically around 1935-1936; not being allowed to attend school; his father losing his medical practice; the strength his mother displayed at this time; attending school in Berlin, Germany in 1938; taking a job in Dortmund, Germany in a bell factory welding steel bells; being arrested by the Gestapo in November 1938 and transported by train to Sachsenhausen; life in the camp, including the forced labor, maltreatment, forced singing, and rations; being released after five weeks; going to Berlin and then Hanover; his father’s imprisonment; his brother being sent on a children’s transport to the Netherlands; and having to get rid of all their property. [Note that the recording ends prematurely.]

Interviewee
Hanns Herzberg
Date
1988 June 26  (interview)
Language
English
Extent
1 videocassette (VHS) : sound, color ; 1/2 in..
Expand all
 
Record last modified: 2018-01-22 10:47:52
This page: https://collections.ushmm.org/search/catalog/irn507461