Advanced Search

Learn About The Holocaust

Special Collections

My Saved Research




Skip to main content

Oral history interview with Chana Goldstein

Oral History | Accession Number: 1990.338.27 | RG Number: RG-50.037.0027

Chana Goldstein, born in 1920 in Łódź, Poland, describes her happy childhood; her four brothers and two sisters; her father’s jewelry store and his death when she was seven; her mother moving to Vilna, Poland (Vilnius, Lithuania), where she had a grocery store and a catering business; getting married at 18 years old; moving to the ghetto when her daughter was an infant; her husband fleeing to Warsaw, Poland for a week; her work sewing shoes by hand for the German army; the Germans taking old people and the children, including her two-year-old baby and her mother, to be killed in 1942; working in a laundry; being moved in 1944 to another part of the ghetto to concentrate the Jews; the daily selections and her husband hiding because he was in poor health; being taken to Auschwitz by train in cattle cars; arriving and having her hair cut; the lack of food but never getting sick; her husband committing suicide; being transported after nine days to work in Bremen, Germany, where she had to clean up streets after air raids; having to walk to Bergen-Belsen concentration camp in 1945; being severely hurt by the rifle butt of an SS man; liberation and having difficulty eating; being the only survivor of her 100 relatives; marrying a survivor from the camp in 1946; her husband being a butcher and staying in Germany until 1949; going to Israel; her son being born in 1952 and contracting polio; immigrating to the United States in 1958 with her son and daughter who then were nine and five years old; and still getting very emotional when she talks about her experience but is thankful to be alive and to have her family.

Some video files begin with 10-60 seconds of color bars.
Goldstein, Chana
Back, Mrs. Toby
1 videocassette (VHS) : sound, color ; 1/2 in..
Record last modified: 2022-06-23 09:44:03
This page: